Skip to content

Frugality At Its Best

October 29, 2008

My friend and I have this little competition going to see who can go the longest before turning thier heater on. Hilarity and purple fingers are sure to ensue.

So far, it isn’t too cold. Wearing sweats with my cuddle duds has been enough. It is amazing how much heat can be produced just by lighting four or five little candles. Also, baking stuff. Brownies, cornbread, etc. And leaving the oven open afterwards.

Eventually I will invest in a space heater. For now, I am holding out just fine. If anyone has any suggestions for ways to keep my place warm *without* using the central heat, let me know. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. alunatunes permalink
    November 10, 2008 12:23 am

    This is sooo funny! We have oil heat and i will do nearly ANYTHING to not turn the heat on- including but not limited to
    jumping jacks
    making big pots of soup to heat up the kitchen
    working with my laptop on my lap instead of my desk (it is SOOO warm)
    letting the dog sleep in the bed (He is SOOO warm…)

    Good luck – i’d love to know how long you can hold out!

Leave a Reply

