Skip to content

Friends

January 9, 2009

I miss the days when I had a group of friends. Not just people to hang out with, but people I was eternally comfortable around, who knew everything about me and had seen all my crazy and still wanted me around.

I only have a couple of people like that left. I think it is incredibly important, yet I haven’t made any connections like that in a long time.

It partially has to do with the fact that I am almost always dating someone, which leaves me very little time to build those friendships. And also the fact that so many of the people I could have had those friendships with, I ended up dating and then breaking up with, which changes it, no matter how badly I want it to be the same.

I have been single for close to six months which is a record for me. By a long shot. (I am a serial dater. It is not a good thing. But things are looking up this time.) I expected by now that I would have made friends who I could feel that way around, yet I have not.

I am naturally inclined to have male friends. I’m not sure why. I have been that way since I was young. I have only had a few girl friends in my life, and none of them turned out well.  I have a couple now, but we are not very close yet. I miss feeling connected with a guy on a totally platonic level. My problem now is, I try to make those friends, and they all think I want to date them when those weren’t my intentions at all.This inevitably leads to friendship destruction.

Anyhow, that’s my rant. If any of you are reading this, Paul, Colt, Chadrick, Daniel, I miss you guys something awful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 5:52 pm

    i feel exactly the same way
    about 99 percent of the time.

Leave a Reply

