Skip to content

No Support for Dudes

April 13, 2010

As a woman, I am receiving tons of support for my pregnancy and the fact that I am becoming a mother. Even strangers, unsolicited, stop to ask questions and offer support. People I barely know give me advice, and hand me downs from their own children. This was an unplanned event and as a result it has been very stressful and even frightening at times. I don’t know how I would have made it this far without everyone’s support.

Men, on the other hand, are rarely offered support from anyone but their own families. If they try to solicit advice or tell about their excitement, they are met with discouraging remarks. Some of the few I have heard are “Your life is over now, buddy.” “Get ready for Hell.” “You’ll never have fun again.” “There goes your social life.” etc.

Did any of these people stop to think that maybe they are a contributing factor to the men who leave their pregnant girlfriends? Perhaps if these men had been met with some support or encouragement, or at the least, just a congratulations, maybe they would have stayed and had an active role in the life of their child. Perhaps people should learn to think before they speak and take a little social responsibility for the effect that their discouraging remarks could have on people. All I am saying is, if you don’t have anything encouraging to say, then shut the fuck up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda Hamby permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:44 am

    That is so true, keep preaching sister.

Leave a Reply

