Skip to content

Jung Would be Proud

April 19, 2010

I just had my first obviously symbolic, easily decipherable dream. I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I am just going to write about it.

The Dream:

I was at my Aunt’s house in Blackrock, Ar. There was a huge family thing going on with a whole lot of people there swimming and making burgers and what not. I’m pregnant, so I started to get sleepy and I said I was going to go upstairs and have a nap. I found a spare bedroom and laid down and went to sleep. When I woke up, everyone was gone. Everyone. I was walking around trying to find someone and my Aunt walked in. She said “Honey, what are you still doing here?” I said I didn’t know and where is everyone. She informed me that everyone had left hours ago. So I was stranded in Blackrock without a ride, or my purse or my phone, which were all in my dad’s car since I rode with them.

What it Means:

Since becoming pregnant, I have, quite literally, felt left behind by that part of my family. It took months before my dad would acknowledge my pregnancy with anything other than the occasional comment about how weird it was and how he couldn’t get used to it. I finally got discouraged and gave up trying. It is slightly better now. When I call, he asks how I am doing and seems to discuss the issue with no problems. However, I get no phone calls from anyone. They don’t call to see how I am doing. They don’t call to see how the midwife visits went. They don’t comment on the “baby bump” pictures I put on Facebook, even though they all have Facebook pages. I am fairly certain that I am “out of sight, out of mind.” It seems especially strange since this will be their first grand baby/niece. That is usually something people are overly excited about. But they have all remained extremely uninterested. It’s very disappointing and I am more than a little hurt and confused, but I don’t know what to do about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

